The One by Kiera Cass

A step down from The Selection and The Elite. I give The One 2 1/2 out of 5 stars.

The Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. Now the time has come for one winner to be crowned.

The third installment in the Selection series, The One is the final novel about Lady America and Prince Maxon’s quest to find love in each other. Though the book ends on a high note, I was disappointed in the final three chapters. Not only was there a very big lack of female character kick-assness, but I feel Cass could have done so much more with the ending. She did not dwell on any of the final events, which in my opinion were very dwell-worthy. I credit Cass for trying to add a significant plot twist to the novel, however I believe that it would have had more impact had she stuck to it.

This book does though have redeeming qualities, I am a sucker for a good romance, and I love the interaction between Lady America and Prince Maxon. Also the writing style is easy and therefore the book makes for an easy and relaxing read. I am interested to see what Cass does next in The Heir.

Like the other novels in the Selection, this is a great quick and lighthearted read. I do believe this is a series that needs to be finished if started, so if you have read The Selection and The Elite be sure to read The One to finish the America and Maxon storyline.

2 thoughts on “The One by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

