Book Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

cityofbonesrepackaged-259x400
Title: City of Bones (the Mortal Instruments #1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Published: Margret K. McElderry Books in 2007
Pages: 485
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
IBSN: 978-1-4169-5507-8
My Rating: 4.5/5

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?
This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know… (Goodreads)

City of Bones is about Clary Frey who finds out she is part of a secret world that she didn’t know about. After her home is attacked and her mother is taken from her, Clary teams up with Jace, Isabelle, and Alec and with them tries to find the Mortal Cup and her mother.

My thoughts:

I know it’s awful that I hadn’t read this entire series before, but now that I am trying to be a good book blogger, I thought it was about time. I had read City of Bones before and I really liked it, I don’t even know why I didn’t continue the series. However, here I am trying again, and this time I can document all of it with reviews, yay!

In general, I liked the story, there were a lot of little things I had forgotten about after having read City of Bones the first time. So it was nice to re-read it.

I really liked the plot, it of course was quite unique. At least I had never read about a Shadowhunter world before. I thought there were great plot twists, and the story didn’t necessarily go where you expected it to go, which was nice.

The characters I also liked, I know a lot of people really dislike the not confident main character trope, but I really don’t mind it. As long as it’s not extreme I actually think it makes the character more relatable. In this case, I didn’t mind Clary’s unconfidence in her looks. I believe she only really said it maybe once or twice in the entire book, so I thought it made her more relatable. I also liked Jace and Simon and especially Alec for some reason. I liked how he was overprotective and a bit untrusting. It really enhanced the story for me and I am really curious how that it going to develop throughout the rest of the series.

The reason I didn’t give City of Bones 5 out of 5 stars, is because I felt there was a little bit of instalove, not a whole lot that it bugged me, but I would have liked the relationships to have been slower in this book.

Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram
One thought on “Book Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

