Book Review: the 5th Wave – Rick Yancey

51vucHDzQ-L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: the 5th Wave
Author: Rick Yancey
Published: 2013 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 457
Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction
IBSN: 9780399162411
My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.
Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. (Goodreads)

My thoughts:

First of all, I loved this book! I know most people saw it as an average book, I just don’t understand why? I found that even though this is an “overused” idea of an alien invasion, Rick Yancey gave it a unique twist.

I did find the book a bit slow in the beginning, but in the end I appreciated all the explanation that is given at the beginning of the book. This makes for a more fast-paced story at the end. I just could not put the book down the last 100 pages.

I usually shy away for books with more than one point of view, but in this case it really worked because it just gave different sides of the story. I also found that all the point’s of view had a different voice, which I imagine is very hard to do. I liked the way we could see the story coming together through these points of view.

I liked the character development in this book, it wasn’t too much but it also gave the characters dimension. At some points I almost felt like I was Cassie, I could sense why she made her choices and that is something I enjoyed. I also really enjoyed Zombie’s POV, it gave a nice insight into what the different outcomes for different people in the invasion were and it added an extra dimension to the story.

I would definitely recommend this book to people who love science fiction and books about aliens. If that’s not your thing then maybe this book isn’t for you. However, I thoroughly enjoyed it and gave it 4.5 out of 5 stars!

One thought on “Book Review: the 5th Wave – Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

