TTT: Childhood Characters

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is childhood characters you’d like to revisit. Or characters you’d love to revisit ten years from now.

The characters I would love to read about 10 years down the line. I usually long for more at the end of a good book or series. I always want to witness the ‘happy ending’ for myself in a new book so that I am assured things don’t go horribly wrong after the end of the book. I know this isn’t possible and we’ll just have to trust the authors that everything ends happily, but sometimes I just need that little bit more. These are the books for which I need to witness that happy ending:

I would love to see a book written about Prince Maxon and America Singer after the selection. Maybe before they had their children. I loved the Selection series I was just a bit upset with the ending. I felt like the whole series led up to them finally being in love with each other and admitting it but we never got to see much of their happy time together, only in the Heir and then there wasn’t much attention fixed on them.

Same goes for the Harry Potter series. I would have loved to see a full-length novel on the gang’s children and their time at Hogwarts. I know I’m not alone on this one but that would have been awesome!

The Hunger Games, I would dieee for a follow up book about Katniss and Peeta. I would love to see what happens after the revolution and how the country builds itself back up. I want to see Katniss and Peeta live happily ever after and experience their love for each other when there are no restrictions or anything holding them back. I think it would make for an amazing book.

Now to answer the actual Top Ten Tuesday question of what childhood characters I’d like to revist as an adult. These are my seven picks:

Magic Tree House. I know these weren’t the best books ever, but I seriously loved them as a kid. It would be pretty cool if there was a more adult version of the series I think.

Charlotte’s Web. This book was awesome as a kid, even though I remember having to read it for school, I loved it.

Narnia, I think there are a lot of things in these books that I may not have picked up as a child. I think if we could see the characters a few years down the road that would be pretty awesome. Just thinking about this book really makes me want to watch the movie tonight 🙂

The Ramona series. I used to love reading these books, though I don’t really remember much of them now, I guess it would be pretty entertaining to read about Ramona and Beezus a few years down the road.

Bridge to Terabithia, I cried so hard for this book. I really would love to know how things are 10 years down the line. This book really opened me up to reading. I have such amazing memories of reading Bridge to Terabithia.

Matilda from Matilda of course. Who didn’t love Roald Dahl’s books growing up? I would love to see a snippet of Mathilda’s life after growing up.

Lastly, I’d love to see Max from Where the Wild Things Are as a grown up. I think this could make for a cool book and I would definitely read it.

What characters would you love to revisit in 10 years and what childhood characters would you love to see as grown ups?

10 thoughts on “TTT: Childhood Characters

  1. I re-read The Bridge to Terabithia recently…and I STILL CRIED. Omg that book is timeless and wonderful (and horrible XD) And I fully concur that a whole book on the Harry Potter characters in the future would be aaaamazing. PLUS YES TO KATNISS AND PEETA. I want to know what their kids’ names are and what Panem was like after everything was over. So. many. questions. 😀
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely forgot about the Magic Treehouse books. I actually wasn’t allowed to read them for awhile after I had a meltdown when I thought they wouldn’t make it off of the Titanic safely, kids are so weird. Yes to Matilda. I need an early twenty something version of her working in the publishing field.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great choices this week! Matilda seems to be a popular answer for everyone and I totally agree – the book kind of ended nicely but it’d be good to see what else happens in her life and what else she ends up doing.

    And 100% with you on The Hunger Games as well! I think reading how the country builds itself again would be SUPER interesting but all dystopian novels seem to end right before that, which is just unfortunate.

    Here are my picks. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

