TTT: Books I Picked Up On a Whim

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is ten books I picked up on a whim. So these are the books I wasn’t recommended but just picked up randomly.

There are a few books in here that I didn’t really enjoy but there are also books in here that I did enjoy and would recommend if you’re into that genre. I added links to all the goodreads pages, so if you’re interested you can check out the book.

Armada by Ernest Cline. I have of course heard a lot of things about Cline’s other book Ready Player One, however, I hadn’t really heard of this book before. When I saw it in the bookstore I decided to pick it up just because, I really ended up enjoying the story and the writing. I would definitely recommend this book if you enjoyed Ready Player One.

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. I read this book a few years ago before I was really in the book community. I picked it up because I was going on vacation and needed a light book to take with me. I really enjoyed this book and ended up buying the rest of the series when I got home. If you’re interested in a fun summer contemporary that does have some substance then I would recommend this series.

Kissing Annabel by Steven Herrick. I bought this book simply because it had my name on it. It is a verse novel about a relationship between Jack and a girl named Annabel. It was a quick read and they were pretty cute poems but nothing special.

Wake by Amanda Hocking. This book I haven’t read yet. I did, however, pick it up on a whim. I needed a few more dollars to get free shipping so I ordered this book because it was really cheap. I will probably be getting to it soon, though.

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp. This books I have been seeing a lot around booktube the past few weeks. I however, bought it a while back simply because it was written by a Dutch author. I didn’t really enjoy the book because of the way it handled a very heavy subject, a school shooting, poorly. I have a full review on why I didn’t enjoy this book here.

UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn. I picked up this book because it was a free e-book. However, I didn’t really enjoy it. There were a lot of spelling and grammatical mistakes throughout the book. I also thought the story was boring and didn’t have much substance.The Raft by S.A. Bodeen. This was a book I saw lying around my house, at the time I was feeling sick so I wanted something light to read so I picked it up without really knowing anything about it. I can’t say I really enjoyed it because I thought the main character was very annoying, but it was an okay read for how I was feeling.

The Raft by S.A. Bodeen. This was a book I saw lying around my house, at the time I was feeling sick so I wanted something light to read so I picked it up without really knowing anything about it. I can’t say I really enjoyed it because I thought the main character was very annoying, but it was an okay read for how I was feeling.

I could only find seven books that I picked up on a whim, all of my other books I bought for a reason. Let me know if you picked any of these up on a whim or what books you picked up on a whim!

9 thoughts on “TTT: Books I Picked Up On a Whim

    • Totally! I didn’t like how it barely handled the subject and the way she portrayed the villian at all

      Like

  1. I’ve been thinking about reading The Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy for a while now. I loved Jenny Hans other books, but for some reason I keep going back and forth about reading them! I don’t know, maybe someday I’ll read them! 🙂 Great Top Ten!
    My TTT!

    Like

    • I would definitely recommend the series! It’s a really quick read too so it probably wont take too long to get through so maybe that will convince you 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. In complete agreement with This Is Where it Ends – there are all kinds of things that I did not appreciate or like about that one. It was just too insensntive, and while I’m all for authors tackling difficult subjects, maybe this one is just better left alone. The Summer I Turned Pretty is on my TBR list for this summer (for obvious reasons) – seems like the perfect series to take along with me on vacation. I also just started Ready Player One!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think a good book about a school shooting could be so powerful especially because it is such a big issue in the States. But I agree that this book just went about it all wrong. It was too fluffy and had no depth. And come one who decides to fall in love with her friend during a school shooting, that is just so insensitive and unrealistic. This book just angers me because it is such an important issue that needs to be dealt with.
      The Summer series is so cute! I usually don’t reach for contemporaries but this one had some depth and dealt with difficult topics, I think it’s a great series!

      Like

Leave a Reply

