Book Review: the Heir by Kiera Cass

51a5h1OlkvL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_
Title: 
the Heir
Author: Kiera Cass
Published: 2015 by Harper Teen
Pages: 342
Genre: Young Adult Dystopia Romance
IBSN:
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.
Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought. (Goodreads)

My thoughts:

I started reading this book in the middle of April to prepare myself for the Crown coming out. But knowing myself once, I got the Crown I started putting off reading it because I didn’t want the series to end. I have really enjoyed the Selection series as a guilty pleasure and knowing that I’ll have to find a new guilty pleasure is pretty haunting.

Anyways, the Crown follows Eadlyn, America and Maxon’s oldest child, she was born 7 minutes before her twin brother which makes her the heir of Illéa. She isn’t very happy with this but also takes the role upon her and does her best to become a great future queen. However, recently there have been uprisings in some states and therefore, Eadlyn is thrown into her own form of the Selection.

I quite enjoyed this book, it wasn’t my favorite of the Selection series but it was a nice read. Of course like most people I disliked Eadlyn in the beginning of the book, but for some reason, she ended up growing on me. She is whiny and entitled but I think that gives her character. We always read about pristine and perfect girls and I’m glad Eadlyn also has realistic flaws, because let’s be honest all girls can be whiny sometimes. Eadlyn reminded me a lot of America and she had a lot of the same stubbornness that America had.

I really liked a lot of the boys in the book too. For me, I haven’t been able to choose a ship yet which pretty much never happens. I am really stuck between two boys and I really want both of them to become the one. This is probably another reason I keep putting off reading the Crown, because I want both of the boys to win. If I were in her position, I just don’t know how I would ever choose.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: the Heir by Kiera Cass

  1. I should probably reread this one for The Crown too but eh, I’ll wing it! The Selection series has been a guilty pleasure read for me too so I’m pretty sad to see it end as well. This was probably my least favorite of the series but I did give it 4/5 stars so it wasn’t THAT bad. I can’t remember his name but I ship the guy who already lived at the palace with them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m almost finished with the Crown now and its really good! Ahh Kile, I loved his character too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

