Book Review: the Crown by Kiera Cass


This review does contain spoilers for the first 3 books of the Selection series. 

tumblr_nnbj7cjFGw1ql5yr7o1_500
The_Crown_Cover
Title: 
the Crown
Author: Kiera Cass
Series: the Selection #5
Published: May 3rd, 2016 by
Pages: 279
Genre: Young Adult Dystopia
IBSN: 9780062392176
My Rating: 3.5/5

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined. (Goodreads)

My thoughts:

I know a lot of people had issues with the Heir, I however quite enjoyed it. I didn’t enjoy it as much as the Selection series but it was a nice quick read between other books. For me the Crown was the same thing. Although this book had much more substance and character development than the Heir, it still wasn’t more than a quick romance read to me. That being said, there is nothing wrong with that and I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book.

As I said the Crown has much more substance than the Heir. Cass attempts to show us more of the political side of becoming queen, I enjoyed having this throw into the book because it gives the story more depth. Though it didn’t somehow become a completely politic driven novel.

The romance in this book was not as big as in the Selection books, Eadlyn approaches her choice much more rationally. Although I would have liked to see more heart in the book I understand that for an upcoming queen the choice has to also be looked at rationally. I enjoyed the character development Eadlyn went through. If felt she really grew up in this novel and started to act has her own person instead of just being the upcoming queen.

The reason I only gave this novel 3.5 out of 5 stars is because I felt the ending was very rushed. I would have loved it if Cass had taken more time with the ending. It would have made it more logical and also more realistic. I believe the way she ended it was correct, but I would have loved it if she took her time with it and explained it in more detail.

I also would have loved to see more from the side characters. Besides the boys from the Selection I didn’t feel like Cass put much effort in her side characters. She pretty much neglected Ahern and Kaden and Osten. I also don’t feel she gave us a lot of interaction between America and Maxon. It was more than in the Heir, but it still didn’t feel like America and Maxon were anything other than Eadlyn’s parents. They were just there to fill a hole, but they weren’t really their own characters anymore.

I am glad that I wrapped with series up and that it had an alright finish for me. I don’t hope that they add more books to this series because I really think this should be the end. Although I enjoyed reading all these books I think if they add more they’d be stretching it really thin and it wouldn’t be enjoyable anymore.

Have you read the Selection series? Let me know what you thought of it! I’d love to hear from you all and know what your opinions were on the books.

One thought on “Book Review: the Crown by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

