Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

download

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published: 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s
Pages: 416
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
IBSN: 9781619634442
My Rating: 4/5 stars

 

 

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! (Goodreads)

My thoughts:

So it took me about a week to read A Court of Thorns and Roses because I had a really busy week. I would have loved to give the book more time and effort because I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had. However, I still did enjoy the book and am really looking forward to A Court of Mist and Fury. I started this book at the end of April hoping to have my pre-order of A Court of Mist and Fury in the mail by the time I was done. Sadly, my order ended up being delayed by 3 weeks so I didn’t get my order for A Court of Mist and Fury in for a while. But that doesn’t really have much to do with A Court of Thorns and Roses.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It follows Feyre, a human girl, who killed a wolf and now must pay her debt to the fairies by living with them in their court for the rest of her life. Feyre soon discovers that the fairies are very different from what she has heard in tales told by her mother. She also discovers that there is something brewing within the fairy politics.

So like I said I think I would have enjoyed this book a lot more if I had had more time to read it. I really enjoyed the characters especially Tamlin and Lucien. Tamlin for me didn’t necessarily remind me of the Beast but he was sweet and caring towards Feyre which I really liked. I also enjoyed Lucien because of his protectiveness over Tamlin and the Court. I enjoyed his back story which gave him a lot more dimension in my opinion. Feyre for me was an okay character, I was annoyed with her quite often but she was also a strong female character as well. I started liking Feyre a lot more towards the end of the book. For me that was when she really started acting like a strong character and showed us what a badass she could be.

I really liked the mystery in the book surrounding the blight. For me, this made the book so much better. Instead of having us already know what’s going on in Prythian, we learn about the world and problems along with Feyre. This also added a layer of excitement to the story. Sometimes it did feel like a bit of an infodump, so I wish Maas would have done that a bit differently. Hopefully this will be different in the next novel.

I’m pretty sure everyone knows about this part of the story, but if you don’t skip over this paragraph because it could be a spoiler. I did think this was important to add to my review because it really is what knocked a star off the rating for me. I hate love triangles. And I really didn’t like the one that was introduced at the end of this story. I really hope it doesn’t take a big part of the second book because for me that will probably ruin the series. I guess we’ll see what A Court of Mist and Fury brings.

So generally, I really enjoyed the fantasy aspects of this novel and I hope that that takes up most of the second novel. Along with hopefully some political drama, but we’ll see. I would definitely recommend this book if you are a fantasy lover. It is a great world you’re thrown into and it really did keep me hooked from beginning until the end.

One thought on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Leave a Reply

