Waiting on Wednesday: The Leaving

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine.

26073074
Title: 
The Leaving
Author: Tara Altebrando
Published: June 7th 2016, by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 432
Genre: Young Adult Mystery Thriller
IBSN: 9781619638037

Six were taken. Eleven years later, five come back–with no idea of where they’ve been.
Eleven years ago, six kindergarteners went missing without a trace. After all that time, the people left behind moved on, or tried to.
Until today. Today five of those kids return. They’re sixteen, and they are . . . fine. Scarlett comes home and finds a mom she barely recognizes, and doesn’t really recognize the person she’s supposed to be, either. But she thinks she remembers Lucas. Lucas remembers Scarlett, too, except they’re entirely unable to recall where they’ve been or what happened to them. Neither of them remember the sixth victim, Max. He doesn’t come back. Everyone wants answers. Most of all Max’s sister Avery, who needs to find her brother–dead or alive–and isn’t buying this whole memory-loss story. (Goodreads)

My thoughts:

This book has a really interesting premise to me. Last week I commented that I love to read mystery thrillers and that I don’t read them often enough. So this week I have another mystery thriller book on my WoW. This book I already have pre-ordered. It kind of reminds me of some tv shows out there, not that I watch them but they seem similar. I have been reading reviews on this story a lot lately, they are very mixed about the book. But that really just makes me more intrigued. I hope to find out for myself if I enjoy this book or not.

About the author:

I went to Harvard and studied American Government, which it turned out was not really my bag. Oh well.

I collect spoons. Not just any ole kitchen spoon, but collector’s spoons from cities and sites around the country and the world. I have, oh, maybe one hundred and fifty of them. Booyah!

I have lived in four out of the five boroughs of New York City (Staten Island, Brooklyn, Manhattan, and Queens but not THE Bronx!) and also in Dublin, Ireland and, well, Boston (for college).

I was a music journalist when living in Dublin and interviewed groups like Rage Against the Machine, Duran Duran, The Frames (Glen Hansard!) and more.

I once (for a whole year!) saw fit to do stand-up comedy. Word on the street is I had good jokes but terrible stage presence.

I have a substantial collection of weird records from the 1950s and 1960s because they were left in the garage (hundreds of them!) of the house I now own.

I own a small trampoline that I use for exercise. We have high ceilings.

I have never had a full-time job! Ever! It’s rather remarkable, really, as is the fact that I once had a job where I got paid to watch television. (www.taraaltebrando.com)

Other books by this author:

Waiting on Wednesday: With Malice

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine.

26153925
Title: 
With Malice
Author: Eileen Cook
Published: June 7th 2016, by HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Genre: Young Adult Mystery Thriller
IBSN: 9780544805095

A read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend–only what if the accident wasn’t an accident?
Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life. (Goodreads)


My thoughts:

This book seems really interesting. I always love a good mystery thriller and this one sounds right up my alley. It combines traveling abroad with a mysterious story to hopefully make an exciting, action-packed book. I have this book pre-ordered so once it is released I will have it in my hands and be able to read it as soon as possible. And can we just take a moment to appreciate that cover?!

About the Author:

Eileen Cook grew up in a small town in Michigan, but would go on to live in Boston and Belgium before settling in Vancouver, Canada with her husband and two very naughty dogs.

In second grade Eileen’s teacher wrote on a homework assignment “I am sure someday you will be an author” which is a tribute to the psychic abilities of elementary school teachers, as well as Eileen penchant for making things up. While she would go on to fill endless notebooks with really bad poetry, short shorties, and the occasional start to a novel, she would first go on to pursue a career as a counsellor working with individuals with catastrophic injuries and illness. In this position Eileen was a senior therapist and was declared an expert by the BC Supreme Court.

Eileen quickly discovered that the challenge of working with real people is that they have real problems and she returned to writing where she could make her characters do what she wanted. Her first novel, UNPREDICTABLE, was published in 2008. She would go on to write a number of young adult novels and her latest, WITH MALICE will be out in June 2016.

When not planning murder and mayhem on the computer, Eileen enjoys reading, knitting, yelling at her dogs to stop digging holes and watching hockey (which she is required to do as a new Canadian.) (www.eileencook.com)

Other books by this author:

Waiting on Wednesday: the Last Star

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine.

16131489
Title: 
the Last Star
Author: Rick Yancey
Published: May 24th 2016, by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction
IBSN: 9780399162435

The Last Star is the heart-stopping finale to the bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.

‘Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough’ The New York Times

We’re here, then we’re gone, and that was true before they came. That’s always been true. The Others didn’t invent death; they just perfected it. Gave death a face to put back in our face, because they knew that was the only way to crush us. It won’t end on any continent or ocean, no mountain or plain, jungle or desert. It will end where it began, where it had been from the beginning, on the battlefield of the last beating human heart.

Master storyteller Rick Yancey invokes triumph, loss, and unrelenting action as the fate of the planet is decided in the conclusion to this epic series.

I personally really enjoyed the 5th Wave, the first novel in this series and I have the Infinite Sea in my possession I just haven’t read it yet. I have heard some mixed things about the Infinite Sea, I really hope I enjoy it and then can finish this series off with the Last Star. I personally am a huge sci-fi nerd and I love a good alien book/series, so I really hope the Last Star will be an awesome finale to this series!

Also, it comes out the day after my birthday so that’s always fun! It’s like a birthday present from me for myself haha.

Waiting on Wednesday: The Crown’s Game

26156203

Title: The Crown’s Game
Author: Evelyn Skye
Published: May 17th 2016 by Balzer + Bray
Pages: 416
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
IBSN: 9780062422583

 

 

 

Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the Tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.
And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the Tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.
Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?
For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.
And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love… or be killed himself.
As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear… the Crown’s Game is not one to lose. (Goodreads)

I know I already talked about this book in my May TBR & exciting releases, but I am just soooooo excited for this one. I feel this is going to be an awesome book so it deserves all the attention it’s getting! I pre-ordered this book a month ago and I just cannot wait to get my hands on it and devour it!

Waiting on Wednesday: the Star-Touched Queen

The-Star-Touched-Queen-High-Res-1
Title: the Star-Touched Queen
Author: Roshani Choski
Publishing Date: April 26, 2016 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Pages: 352
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
IBSN: 9781250085474

 

 

 

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?
Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…
But Akaran has its own secrets — thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most. . .including herself.
A lush and vivid story that is steeped in Indian folklore and mythology. The Star-Touched Queen is a novel that no reader will soon forget. (Goodreads)

I have heard so many good things about this book recently! A fantasy romance novel is always something I’m up for but in this case I’m super excited. It sounds like such a fast-paced novel with hopefully some political intrigue. I can’t wait until this book is out and I can get my hands on it!